oldrebel: blog oldrebel's blog
don't get hooked !
Published Jun. 29, 2008Got one of those phony but very official looking "phishing" emails this morning. Supposedly from Chase Online Bank. Claiming that I'm a "valued Chase banking customer"...(never have been)...I'm then instructed to follow a link to where there's another official looking "Chase Online Form" that asks for...Name|Work Phone Number| Home Phone Number| Mobile Phone Number| E-mail Address along with (Get This) User ID...Password for the account....You 're then asked to create a "emergency password due to the "new security requirements", the emergency password should coincide with that email address just given"...Repeat the emergency password...and then submit.
Can you believe the audacity of this kind of scam? Hopefully no one will fall for this and send the requested information...Hopefully, but I just thought I'd do my "Paul Revere" of the day and pass this one along to y'all.
The actual "phishing" website I was directed to is at http://chaseonline.chase.com.assilmain.org.es/Secure/webform/OSL.aspx/?LOB=%20%20414333582263488501724820241030108746423465405751957&refer=153507096
7 Comments
(3 votes) cary police seek man in suspicious death
(1 votes) illinois kindergarten golfer has ace
(1 votes) bulls take series lead with 3-2 win
(1 votes) flooding, downed trees hanna's 'legacy'






























Welcome to GOLO, where WRAL.com visitors can comment on stories and create profile pages, blogs and photo galleries.
You must be a registered WRAL.com user to use these tools. Click here to register or log in.
I have iron-clad protection – picture a large condom over my computer - and I can be very sure that they are not going to get much from my system, except that I have responded to their e-mail.
I make up information to provide to their queries – their entry fields will accept anything - and then, generally, ask for more or direct you to a real site where you need to log in again.
My entries are generally quite rude, even downright obscene.
I keep hoping that the fools will send me a “clarification” email or otherwise try to engage me in a dialog. Something good and solid that I could forward on to the FBI.
So far, no such luck ....
BTW, don't trust the phone numbers, either ....
STS
GOLO member since June 7, 2008
June 29, 2008 12:12 p.m.
I have seen a new one, supposedly from Google Earth, inviting a click-thru to update your free Google Earth software. If you examine the raw message you can see the link points to a phishing site. When in doubt, type the "known" URL into the browser yourself to ensure you are not being redirected.
GOLO member since March 18, 2008
June 29, 2008 11:41 a.m.
GOLO member since July 3, 2007
June 29, 2008 11:22 a.m.
GOLO member since December 15, 2007
June 29, 2008 11:21 a.m.
GOLO member since July 18, 2007
June 29, 2008 11:00 a.m.
GOLO member since September 1, 2007
June 29, 2008 10:57 a.m.
GOLO member since July 15, 2007
June 29, 2008 10:55 a.m.
Please log in to add comment.